Skip to content
Powered by Pagefind
English
Guides

Star Trek: Outposts Unknown Demo vs Full Game

Official differences between the Star Trek: Outposts Unknown demo and full game: content length, planets, and demo availability after the Oct 2026 launch.

10/21/2026 STOU Wiki Editors Last updated: 10/21/2026 4 min read

FAQ

Can you still download the demo after launch?
Unclear from a single official sentence. On 2026-10-21 the Steam appdetails API returned success:false for demo app 4716450, which usually means the demo is delisted or hidden. Check Steam search or the full game store page; Playstack has not posted a "demo removed" notice we could cite as of that date.
Does demo progress carry over to the full game?
Officially not stated. Neither the June demo announcement nor the October launch post mentions save import or cross-save. Treat progress as non-transferable until Magic Fuel or Playstack documents otherwise.
How long is the demo compared to the full game?
The 7 June 2026 announcement lists roughly three hours of narrative gameplay on Daegus. The full game advertises exploration across the X’Lehari System with additional planets such as Kourou (Devlog #2) and Neral (Devlog #3)—no official hour count for the complete campaign.
Which planets are in the demo vs full game?
Demo: Daegus only (June announcement). Full game: Daegus plus at least Kourou and Neral per Captain’s Devlogs #2 and #3. Exact unlock order is story-spoiler territory; see world guides for verified planet facts.

Last verified: 2026-10-21. Sources: Demo announcement (7 Jun 2026), Launch post (21 Oct 2026), Devlog #2 Kourou, Devlog #3 Neral/logistics, SteamDB demo app 4716450.

The June 2026 demo and 20 October 2026 full release share the same fiction—you command the U.S.S. Resonant in the X’Lehari System—but official copy draws a clear scope line: the demo is a Daegus-only slice (~3 hours), while the paid game is the full narrative campaign with additional planets and the complete resource/web shown in late devlogs.

Not to be confused with Star Trek: Voyager – Across the Unknown (separate title and demo on Steam).

What did the official demo include?

From Announcing Star Trek: Outposts Unknown + Demo Available Now! (7 Jun 2026):

Demo feature Official description
Story length ~3 hours of narrative gameplay
Location Daegus (lush planet)
Systems Logistics, production chains, early research planning
Crew Selection/management across Command, Engineering, Medical, Navigation, Science, Security
Feedback Demo contained a survey link

Later Pacing & Bugfixing Demo Update (12 Jun 2026) adjusted demo pacing (beacon requirement, metal camera, etc.)—see /guides/beginner-guide/. Those notes target the demo build, not individually re-listed for 1.0.

Steam screenshot of an outpost at dusk with a landing pad, a domed building and a shuttle in the sky

Image: official Steam store screenshot of an early-game outpost.

What does the full game add officially?

Area Full game (sourced)
Scope Complete X’Lehari System story tied to the Tetryon Rift (store + devlogs)
Planets Daegus, Kourou (Devlog #2), Neral (Devlog #3)
Economy 55+ resources and water / power / compute upkeeps (Devlog #3–4)
Price $32.99 USD PC Steam (Devlog #4, appdetails)
Platforms PC at launch; Mac later (launch post 21 Oct 2026)

The full game is not described as a separate mode—it replaces the demo’s limited arc with the full campaign. No official hour count for completion appears in news through 2026-10-21.

Official gameplay footage of two translucent domes covering small outposts on a dark, icy landscape

Source: Kourou gameplay reveal (frame ~4:30). Footage from the Kourou section of the full game’s reveal.

Is the demo still available?

Check Result on 2026-10-21
Steam appdetails for demo app 4716450 success: false (no live store metadata)
Parent link SteamDB lists parent app 3469910
Official “demo removed” post Not found in Steam news through launch day

Practical read: Treat the Outposts Unknown demo as unavailable until Steam shows a downloadable demo entry again. If you never installed it, use /guides/is-it-worth-it/ and press summaries instead of a hands-on slice.

Can you transfer saves from demo to full?

Officially not stated. Neither the demo announcement nor the October launch news mentions save migration, Steam Cloud cross-app sync, or import flags.

Topic Status
Save transfer Officially undocumented
Steam Cloud Full game lists Steam Cloud (category); demo had separate app ID with family sharing excluded on SteamDB—do not assume shared saves

If support publishes steps, update this section with a dated link.

How do demo reviews relate to the full game?

Pre-release write-ups—Rock Paper Shotgun (Jun 2026), TrekNews.net demo (15 Jun 2026)—describe tone and systems but not Kourou/Neral endgame or launch stability.

Post-release Mixed Steam reviews (40 total on 2026-10-21—see /guides/is-it-worth-it/) reflect paid build sentiment, not the demo executable.

Should you buy if you only played the demo?

Official facts support buying if you want more planets and story; wait if you need clarity on performance patches (/guides/crash-fix/) or Mac/Deck (/guides/system-requirements/).

Next steps: /guides/beginner-guide/ · /worlds/daegus-walkthrough/ · /guides/first-outpost-build-order/

Related Articles

Was this helpful?